DeliciouslyYorkshire reveals its “champion” shortlist

Deliciouslyorkshire has drawn up its list of “champion” contenders in the Deliciouslyorkshire Awards 2013.

Following on from July’s ‘Product Category’ shortlist, the latest eight shortlisted businesses – which range from pies and pickle makers to B&Bs and farm shops – went through an even more rigorous selection process to be named finalists in the champion categories.

BBC radio and TV food and drink presenter Nigel Barden, one of the eight Deliciouslyorkshire Award judges, said: 

“These champions went through a tough series of mystery shops to get into this eight-strong shortlist.

“And we consider these final candidates to be the crème de la crème of Yorkshire’s delicious food businesses – we wish them every success at the awards ceremony on September 25!”

The full list of shortlisted champion candidates are:

 Best New Business Sponsored by Yorkshire Bank

  • Jollyum
  • Nibnibs
  • The Harrogate Food Company
  • Vanessa Deli and Cafe

Local Food Hero Sponsored by M4UK

  • Andrew Voakes -Voakes Pies
  • Sarah Puckett – Puckett’s Pickles
  • Mark Farnsworth- William’s Farm Kitchen
  • Diane Congreve – The Crusty Pie Company 

Best Yorkshire Breakfast Sponsored by HGCA

  • The Wold Cottage
  • Gallon House
  • Lovesome Hill Farm
  • Newton House

Best Use of Local Produce on a Hotel or Restaurant menu 

  • The Spiced Pear
  • Yorebridge House
  • The1875 Restaurant
  • Silversmiths

Best Yorkshire Afternoon Tea 

  • The Devonshire Arms Hotel
  • The Spiced Pear
  • Cedarbarn Farmshop and Cafe
  • Drewton’s

Best Independent Retailer Sponsored by the Local Enterprise Partnership

  • Cedarbarn Farm Shop
  • Drewton’s Farm Shop
  • Keelham Farm Shop
  • William’s Farm Kitchen

Best Wholesaler/Distributor

  • Michael Lee Cheeses
  • Crofters Foods
  • Cryer and Stott Cheesemongers
  • Anna’s Happy Trotters
  • GW Price

Supreme Product – Sponsored by Proudfoots Supermarket

Winner selected from the winners of the product categories

For more about the deliciouslyorkshire Awards log on to

Deliciouslyorkshire Members – Craig Benton and Angela Brader from Raisthorpe Manor, Kate Stringer and Matthew Dixon from Yorkshire Rapeseed, Lea and Robert Darling from Burtree Puddings, Jonathan Curtoys from Sloe Motion

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.