IoD reveals final details for Director of the Year awards

There are just a few seats left for the prestigious Director of the Year awards, organised by the Institute of Directors (IoD) in Yorkshire and the Humber.

BBC Look North presenter Tanya Arnold will host the black-tie dinner, which takes place on 11 June at the Hilton Sheffield hotel in Victoria Quays. Entertainment will come from talented vocalist Beverly Savarin.

The Director of the Year awards are recognised as one of the highest honours for business leaders. This year’s shortlisted individuals represent a diverse range of industries and organisations, from a confectionery manufacturer to a city council.

The winners will go forward to the national IoD Director of the Year awards, where they will compete against winners from across the UK.

Humber businessman Richard Tuplin, sales and operations director of Jelf Insurance Partnership, chaired the judging panel for the 2015 awards.

Sponsors of this year’s awards are Deloitte; GDF Suez Energy UK; Leeds Beckett University; Hilton Sheffield; Vista; Sheffield Hallam University; NGC Networks; the National Apprenticeship Service and UKTI.

Further information on tickets is available by contacting

The shortlist is:

Not for Profit / CSR Director of the Year                          

Delroy Beverley, Property Solutions Incommunities Group Ltd

Keith Rowley, NHS (NOE CPC)

Martin  Farrington, Leeds City Council


Young Director                                

Sophie Jewett, York Cocoa House

William Sutton, Vista

Nik Pratap, Brewster Pratap Recruitment Group


SME Director of the Year                            

Neil Fisher, Airco Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Ltd

Gav Winter, The Test People

Simon  Gray, Boost Drinks Ltd

Keith Jackson, JRI Orthopaedics


Large Company                               

Herwig Vennekens, Dunhills (Pontefract) PLC (Haribo)

David Hurcomb, NG Bailey Group Ltd

International Director of the Year                          

Julia Gash, Bag It Don’t Bin It Ltd

Herwig Vennekens, Dunhills (Pontefract) PLC (Haribo)

Keith Jackson, JRI Orthopaedics

North East SME Director of the Year                                

Daniel  Robinson, Gus Robinson Developments Ltd

Pete Watson, Atlas Cloud

Stewart McNicholl, AMS Asbestos Management Services

Dean Benson, Visual Soft (UK) Ltd

Overall Director of the Year                                   

Neil Fisher, Airco Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Ltd

Gav Winter, The Test People

Herwig Vennekens, Dunhills (Pontefract) PLC (Haribo)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.