Five of the best engineering apprentices rewarded with quest scholarships

Civil Engineering Apprentices from Leeds College of Building have been awarded five coveted scholarships from The Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) and The Queen’s Jubilee Scholarship Trust (QUEST) Committee.

The £1,500 QUEST scholarships are a benchmark of excellence, and recognise talented engineers of the future who have been able to demonstrate their current abilities and future potential.

Simon Ashburn who works for SJG Temporary Works Ltd, Samuel Hirst who works for Highways England and Stuart Seaton, Hana Sulaiman and Emma Worthington who all work for Tata Steel Projects, were judged on their technical engineering capabilities, leadership skills, ambition and their ability to use their initiative to deliver sustainable engineering solutions.

ICE Yorkshire & Humber initially short-listed 10 applicants for interview after candidates submitted an essay explaining why gaining professional qualifications was important to them.

Vicky Patterson from Leeds College of Building, says: “Our courses are incredibly ground-breaking and have been praised by the ICE for their practical application of the taught syllabus, the positive influence our tutors have on student development and the quality work based experience they offer.  

“We are delighted that so many of our students have been recognised by ICE this year as it’s a fantastic endorsement of the quality of teaching and the determination of our students to achieve at the very highest levels.”  

Nick Baveystock, director general of the ICE, said: “These students are all working hard whilst learning core technical skills at Leeds College of Building. The college consistently produces very talented civil engineers and we were really impressed with the technical content of work experience and the level of responsibility that candidates demonstrated.”

ICE Director General Nick Baveystock pictured with award winners Nick Baveystock Samuel Hirst Hana Sulaiman Stuart Seaton Emma Worthington Simon Ashburn
ICE director general Nick Baveystock pictured with award winners Nick Baveystock, Samuel Hirst, Hana Sulaiman, Stuart Seaton, Emma Worthington and Simon Ashburn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.