Shortlist revealed for IoD Director of the Year Awards

The Institute of Directors (IoD) has revealed the names of the business leaders shortlisted for its 2019 Director of the Year Awards.

The finalists are drawn from across Yorkshire and the North East and represent the full spectrum of business and industry, from young entrepreneurs to experienced public and private sector leaders.

The winners’ names will be revealed at the awards dinner at the Principal York hotel on July 4. Winners then go forward to represent the region at the UK Director of the Year finals.

The judging panel was chaired by Simon Walton, managing partner at Berwick Partners/Odgers Berndtson, Leeds.

Jon Geldart, chair of IoD Yorkshire and North East, said: “Congratulations are due to everyone who has made this shortlist, which is a fantastic achievement itself. Thanks to Simon and his judging panel for their hard work in scrutinising the entries and reaching our final shortlist. The quality of nominations was very high, which led to some difficult deliberations.”

Dr Joanna Berry, vice-chair of IoD Yorkshire and North East, said: “This shortlist showcases the incredible diversity of businesses and leaders that we have across our region. I’m looking forward to an excellent evening on 4 July, where we will celebrate business excellence and reward those who have contributed so much to our regional economy.”

Awards partners are CNG, Topic UK, Leeds Beckett University, BDB, Forward Ladies and Walking with the Wounded. To book your place at the awards, call 0113 243 0152 or email

The shortlist is:


Clair Challenor-Chadwick, Cause UK

Geoff Shepherd, iSource Group

James Cain, Harrogate Spring Water



Andrew Lane, Union Industries

David Winton, The Energy Check

Debbie Heald MBE. Heald Ltd

Dr Arnab Basu MBE, Kromek Group

Ian Skiggs, Teledyne Defence & Space

James Cain, Harrogate Spring Water

Lee J Walker, The Business Desk

Mike Maddock, Performance Engineering Solutions

Nigel Brewster , Brewster Partners

Oliver North, O&H Vehicle Technology

Poonam Kaur, FDS

Ravi Sharma, Pet Brands

Zandra Moore, Panintelligence


Family Business      

Lesley Wild, Bettys & Taylors of Harrogate

Sharon Lane, Tees Components

Timothy John Rix, J.R. Rix & Sons



Charlotte Armitage, Yorkshire Academy of Film and TV

Charlotte Sweeney, Chalotte Sweeney Associates

Christine Madeley, Madeley Enterprises

Edward Asquith, Four Tigers Media


Start Up         

Geoff Shepherd, Think Summits

Benjamin Maughan, Epic Social Limited

Dr William Beer, Tunley Engineering Limited



Anthea Morris, Better 2 Know

Debbie Heald MBE, Heald Ltd

Dr Arnab Basu MBE, Kromek Group PLC

Jack Deverson, Evidence Based Education

Martin Port, Big Change

Zandra Moore, Panintelligence



David Langworth, NM Group

Debbie Heald MBE, Heald Ltd

Mark Gilroy, TMS Development International

Prof Adam Beaumont, AQL


Third Sector

Kate Hainsworth, Leeds Community Foundation

Adeem Younis, Penny Appeal

Claire Malcolm, New Writing North


Large Business        

Jacqui Hall, CNG

Richard Smith, Surfachem



Colin Glass OBE, Shine

Martin Allison, Rosedale Advisory

Prof Adam Beaumont, AQL and NorthInvest



Jack Deverson, Evidence Based Education

Drew McGilvray, Cater-Clean Solutions

Oliver North, O&H Vehicle Technology


Chairman’s Award   

Heidi Mottram OBE, Northumberland Water

Lesley  Wild, Bettys & Taylors of Harrogate

Linda Pollard CBE DL, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Nigel Mills CBE, Lakes Distillery

Roger Marsh OBE, Leeds City Region Enterprise Partnership


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.